Drake Calls Take Care A “Down” Album, Speaks On Upcoming Collabos & More

April 26, 2012 by Danny M


Drake will begin his “Club Paradisesummer tour with J. Cole, Meek Mill, 2 Chainz, Waka Flocka Flame and French Montana on May 7th. He recently spoke with MTV about having music to perform at each show with all of the artists on the tour with him. This means that it is only 2 Chainz and Meek Mill who we have not heard on a track with Drizzy.

We can be looking forward to hearing a Meek Mill and Drake collabo dropping on Meek’s Dreamchasers 2 mixtape soon and on May 1st, 2 Chainz will be releasing his single called “No Lie” featuring Drizzy.

Drizzy Drake also told Billboard that he has already started recording his third album that he says will be different than Take Care, which he called a “down” album. You can read what Drake said about his forthcoming third album below:

“I think my mood will be reflected in the tempos I choose for the music,” the Canadian singer and rapper told Billboard.com during a conference call to promote the upcoming U.S. amphitheatre run of his Club Paradise Tour. “A lot of ‘Take Care,’ it’s down… and I think a lot of it had to do with being back in Toronto, getting reacquainted with the life I had before (fame) and difficulties with that, and at the same time trying to express excitement, express joy…

“Now I’m in a very, very, very, very different place than I’ve ever been, really focused on myself, really focused on my health, my body, my mind, really wanting to be the best I can possibly be…I’m in a different mindset now that I’m very proud of… It’s going to be a very interesting album — probably, to be honest with you, conceptually one of the most exciting projects I’ve worked on, just ’cause there’s so many new things going on in my life.”

Chief among those, Drake added, is relocating from Toronto to Los Angeles, which he said has made a distinct difference in the feeling of the new material. “I still live in Toronto and love the city,” he said, “but there’s just so much going on for me in the U.S. I recently made the move to L.A. There’s a new atmosphere. I’m getting to know new people…Anybody knows that when it’s new, that’s when I thrive. When there’s new things to talk about that’s really when I get off.” Drake didn’t say much about who he planned to work with on the project, though he’s recently made comments about doing more with Jamie xx, who produced “Take Care’s” title track (which features Rihanna), as well as 2 Chainz and longtime creative partner Noah “40” Shebib.

Drake’s primary focus, however, is on the Club Paradise Tour’s next U.S. leg, which launches May 7 in Concord, Calif. He explained that he set out to “over-extend myself a bit from a budget and production standpoint (to) give people an absolutely stunning show from top to bottom.” The package includes J. Cole, Waka Focka Flame, Meek Mill, 2 Chainz and French Montana, but Drake explained, “I don’t want it to feel like a bunch of opening acts and then the headliner. With the stage, every act that comes out, something about the stage changes… It’s going to keep people’s attention. It’s going to be an energetic and very interesting evening for sure.” There are also ripe prospects for collaborating, as Drake notes that he’ll have recorded in some way with all of the other artists by the time the tour goes out.

“I know a lot of these guys very well; not only am I a fan of their music, but I have very strong alliances with these guys,” he said. “I guess it’s safe to say now that anybody I didn’t have a song with before I have a song with now. I made sure of that. I want to go out on the tour with the most exciting artists right now and I want to make sure I have songs all of them.” That includes Rick Ross’ “Stay Schemin’,” which Drake and Montana feature on, and Waka’s “Round of Applause.” Drake also promised, without getting specific, that “fans are going to get some exciting new musical material that will probably end up dropping a few days before the tour, so we can play them on the tour, which was really my concept.

“If we start getting really into and start vibing, maybe the last few nights it’s a collaboration show. Maybe we do all our songs on the stage together, making exciting moments for people that are not just about seeing all of us individually.”

Share and Enjoy:

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Drake Calls Take Care A “Down” Album, Speaks On Upcoming Collabos & More”

  1. Driiizzzzyyyyy Says:

    I did not think the album was “down” at all.

    The Motto >>>


  2. King shot Says:

    wow, drake meek mill and 2 chains the hottest rappers in hip hop right now!!


  3. weey92 Says:

    @KingShot really? 2 Chainz is old as the hills and whack as hell. Meek Mill is ok..


  4. Take Care Hoes Says:

    I bet we only get the album in 2014 🙁


  5. Charl Says:

    @Take Care Hoes

    Drake never pushes back his albums so it’s possible he could release it this year. It will most-likely be next year though. Can’t see it dropping in 2014, that is ages away 😛


  6. tune Says:

    @Charl, honestly i dont think it would be possible since he is traveling while recording, i say when the tour finishes and drake works on the album, it will come out next year


  7. i am music Says:

    he should make song with t-pain i would like to her that drake made a song with t-pain


Leave a Reply

Note: We use Gravatars on the comments section here at YoungMoneyHQ.com. Gravatars are little icons that appear next to your name and message in the comments section above. Click here to get your own Gravatar, or you will automatically get a random pattern.